Print this page
  List of banking institutions in Malaysia
  Bank Negara Malaysia
  Credit Bureau

  From:   To:  
New Malaysian Banknotes Series to be issued Into Circulation from 16 July 2012

Bank Negara Malaysia is pleased to inform members of the public that the new Malaysian banknotes series will be issued into circulation from 16 July 2012. Themed 'Distinctively Malaysia', the new banknotes series comprises denomination of RM1, RM5, RM10, RM20 and RM100.  The current RM50 banknote has been issued since December 2007 and will continue to remain in circulation.

In preparation for the issuance of the new banknotes series, Bank Negara Malaysia has been working closely with financial institutions, businesses, cash handling vendors and local councils to facilitate a smooth transition to the new series since December 2011.

Numerous engagement sessions have been held with these stakeholders to ensure readiness of the systems and processes for the issuance of the new banknotes. Vendors of cash handling machines are urged to ensure that their machines can accept both the new and old banknotes series for the convenience of the public effective by this date.

Vendors and other relevant parties who have further queries can contact BNMLINK at 1-300-88-5465 or call 03 - 2698 8044 ext 7307/8658 or email to

Bank Negara Malaysia



  Back to List of Announcements